Book/page totals

Top 10 Lists

Tuesday, June 19, 2007

cover of The Dark is Rising

The second book of five, in which Will Stanton is introduced. A boy turning eleven who is going on ageless. (One of the Old Ones, along with Merry from the first book.) Will is called the Sign-Seeker, and as the last of the Old Ones to be born is given the task (or tasks) of collecting six signs which is the second of four things of power the light is seeking to collect before the great battle. There are six signs of six different materials (wood, bronze, iron, water, fire, stone) which are all to be sought and found in a variety of places and times.

Will Stanton is a paradox .. an eleven year old boy, and also a being who has more power, knowledge, and responsibility than any regular human. Cooper is careful to not switch too easily between the two, and to make mention when one is particularly present. They are both part of him, but when he is with his family he is almost always an eleven year old .. who can't wait to open his Christmas presents, and who enjoys sledding, and who wants to make sure his family is alright. This is a hard tension to hold, but Cooper does it well.

Title:The Dark is Rising
Author: Susan Cooper
Date published:1973
Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy
Series: The Dark is Rising
Number of pages: 244
Notes: Repeat reading


Google Search